Rowmark Wraps Up Most Successful Season Yet
Posted 05/01/2015 03:00PM

Rowmark Ski Academy has wrapped up one of its most successful years in history. A top five sweep for our women at the USSA Open at Jackson Hole Resort, a record number of Rowmark skiers qualifying for the U.S. Alpine U18 National Championships in Copper Mountain, Colorado, the domination in the field from our women in the U16 Qualifiers in Jackson, WY, an overall win of the Snowcup at Snowbird, women's podium sweep at the FIS Western Region Slalom in Mammoth, CA, and a first place slalom win at the U16 Nationals in Sugarloaf, ME are among the highlights of the season. With an unprecedented number of skiers on the team this year, and most of them returning next year, the team is poised to continue its record breaking streak next year.

Last week the Rowmark annual awards banquet was held with over 100 Academy and Jr. Program families in attendance with the awards going to the following recipients:  

Senior Award - Outstanding leadership, character, academic and ski racing achievement - Matt Glasgow, Izi Torres
“Olle Larsson” Skier of the Year Award-Achievement in ski racing, character, work ethic - Megan Dingman, Katie Hensien
Sportsmanship - Riley Whitney, Liam Michael
Northrop Award - Achievement in speed skiing and academics - Hannah West 
Hank Shipman/Scotty Veenis Perseverance Award - Mike White, Courtney McCabe
Most Improved - Cole Morgan
Conditioning Award - Madison Ostergren, Luke Mathers, Liz Baer

The Jr. Program award recipients are as follows:

Male Athlete of the Year - Greg Olszanskyj
Female Athlete of the Year - Eliza Hodgkins
Most Improved Male - Garrett Glasgow
Most Improved Female - Zoe Michael
Best Big Mountain Skier - Ellie Nichols
Perseverance - Ben Kanter
Biggest Air - Danika Mannelin
Best Team Spirit - Tasia Tanner
Slalom Ace - Tommy Hoffman
Best Overall Teammate - Carter Louchheim
Sportsmanship - Emilie Orfanakis
Sportsmanship - Tristam Gaylord
Most Improved - Female - All Star - Dagny Brickson
Most Improved - Male - All Star - Gabe Hopkins
Best Big Mountain Skier - Nick Orfanakis
Best Team Spirit - Charlotte Orford
Best Angles - Ford Hodgkins
Craziest Crashes - Frank Stearns
Biggest Air - Ian Hanrahan
Perseverance - Charlotte Altman
Fall Line Chaser - Will Jacquin
Sportsmanship - Kate Altman
Most Improved - Male AMR - Boden Dumas
Most Improved - Female AMR - Tenny Seethaler
Always Ready to Race - Elsie Dubois
Free Ski King - Alan Dugan
Racing Machine - Morgan Jacquin
Trail Blazer - Nate Kanter
Hardest Worker - Remy Mickelson
Jumping Air Queen, Biggest Air - Arden Louchheim
Most Coachable - Mei Mei Johnson
Best Attitude - Julia Graham
Although this year’s racing season may be over, the elite athletes do not take time off to rest. They will begin the summer with a ten-day ski camp to Mount Hood in Oregon to hone and fine tune skills away from the racing environment. The athletes continue dry land training for the next six months in preparation for next year’s races. Congratulations to all our athletes and their families for their hard work, dedication, and commitment to the program.